How to make money from video.

Making money from videos isn’t hard, I’ve been doing it for 4 years now.

You may be thinking, how do I get a slice of this cash, well sadly it’s not that easy. You can’t just get up, buy a camera, and expect to be earning $500 a month. That’s near impossible.

There are many ways to make money when making videos. But this isn’t a small task, in some cases it will take weeks, months and even years.

One of the easiest ways to make money is through YouTube and their partner program. Back in 2013 I got partnered by Maker Studios Inc. This is where I started to make a small amount of money. You need to realise that I was making videos for 6 years before I got this offer. Although it’s a lot easier to get accepted nowadays. With the help of Maker Studios I made videos for Statefarm, and even did some promotional work for Disney. This was a starting point for me.

Another method would be by getting lucky, and learning off some other director or creator, and actually work with them on a few projects. With this you can get an idea on how to use an expensive camera, or even learn to edit videos. Doing this allows you to get hands on experience with a camera, but this would take a while, and the creator who is teaching you, probably won’t pay you.

The way I started to make semi-big bucks was a mixture of these things. I started on YouTube, where I learned how to create content, use software, and in turn earned me a partnership. Soon after this, I bought a semi-average camera. This is where I started to do voluntary work for the local community. I did this for around 6 months, getting better with the camera, and actually gaining an understanding on how things work. After these few months was over I got given the opportunity to work with a company (who I can’t disclose at this time), on a few different projects. This company paid me very well, and even called me a cinematographer. This was when I knew I could make money doing what I love. This might sound weird, but I did get lucky, I found my passion at a young age when things was still growing.

You need to realise that the creation of this wasn’t done over night. I have to spend years gaining new skills, and actually bettering myself. It has taken me 9 years to actually learn something which I’m happy to have learnt.

If you want to make the big bucks in video, you need to work for free and actually learn, because like most things, KNOWLEDGE IS KEY.

Leave a Reply

